Resources for sending the demon packing

And another very brief post from me today – since I wrote the other day about the demon Anxiety, I’ve come across a fabulous resource – Anxiety BC. It’s a website which is packed with all the info you need to understand the psychology and physiology of anxiety.

Here’s a couple of choice quotes:

“Most people do not recognize their anxiety for what it is, and instead think there is something “wrong” with them. Some people are preoccupied with the symptoms of anxiety (e.g. stomach aches, increased heart rate, shortness of breath, etc.).”

The Facts!
Myth:Reading, thinking, and learning about anxiety will make you even MORE anxious.
Fact: If you do not know what you are dealing with, how do you manage it? Having accurate information about anxiety can reduce confusion, fear, and shame. Anxiety is a common and normal experience, and it CAN be managed successfully!

Which I completely agree with – the first impulse can be to run and hide, but this knowledge is the key – and WILL help you see off the demon.

(Find more here.)

The website has info for adult sufferers, but also for parents of anxious kids. And there’s also this little book for kids which I’ve ordered but hasn’t arrived yet – From Worrier to Warrior: A Guide to Conquering Your Fears. I’ll review it once we’ve used it.

So there we go, onwards and upwards – or less politely, kick ass.

CG

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Resources for sending the demon packing

  1. Thanks CG! I’ve lived with anxiety all my life. Most of the time, I can focus it into the energy I need to accomplish some worrisome task. Only when I don’t have a way to focus my anxiety does it get unmanageable. Thank you for the links. One can’t be too well armed to fight that demon.

    Like

    • I’m glad to help!! Mm, us over-thinkers….I feel like things (gifts, talents, as well as “dysfunctions” like dyslexia, etc) are in balance, or that there’s two sides to everything – so the anxiety for example is the dark side of a thoughtful and sensitive personality. I feel like I’m on the way to managing anxiety, but it’s been a long road. Mostly because this kind of information has not always been widely available! Yet another reason to love the internet 🙂

      Like

  2. Why isn’t there a worrier-to-warrior thing for adults?? Maybe we should all read the kid’s one…
    And now thanks to you every time someone says ‘onwards and upwards’ I’m going to be snickering inappropriately at the thought of a boot trajectory!

    Like

  3. Love when people (like you) reach out to help and inform others. Gives me hope.

    I had my first counseling appointment today to start the lengthy process of treatment (I haven’t even been diagnosed yet, which is why I say lengthy), and my counselor commented that she thought many of what I thought were just random quirks may actually be signs of anxiety. For example, I rock back and forth often — almost whenever I’m sitting, no matter what I’m doing. I don’t notice it but those around me do.

    I’ve never even looked much into anxiety. I used to get bad panic attacks but I thought they were just part of whatever else was going on.

    Thanks for the info=]

    Like

    • You poor thing, I feel for you! That website really is brilliant – I feel like I have clear tools for managing the anxiety. And yeah, there are other things going on – I’m wondering if those other various stressors deplete our serotonin levels, and then we end up with things like depression and anxiety. But that is manageable! And your counselor sounds like she’s on to it, which is a good start eh!

      Like

What do you think? Leave a reply...

