How things have changed

When our time is almost gone.

This post by fellow blogger Michelle highlights how life and our expectations of it have changed in a lifetime – she says “I am humbled by the thought of oranges and apples treasured as precious.” Something like what I tell my kids at times. Imagine a different life…..

And she makes a good point – ” “Make do and mend,” a slogan from an almost forgotten era needs to be revived if we are going to become a more sustainable and inclusive society.” I feel like some of us are between two cycles of make do and mend – my parents are old enough to have a lot of that mentality still, and I feel their influence, and looking forward, can see our current way of living is not sustainable, so here we go again…

5 thoughts on “How things have changed

  1. I have a fondness for Make Do and Mend (I got a darning egg for my birthday!!!) but I was struck by Michelle’s mention of another long-forgotten pairing: Wait and Go Without. I might have to mull that one over…

    Like

  2. I’m part of the make- do generation and am sometimes appalled at the stuff the world is drowning in. I love less is more. In Ghana at a conference one of our hosts said to us ” If you want something just ask us and we’ll try to get it for you. If we can’t, we’ll teach you how to do without it, like we do.”

    Like

    • That’s a good one!! I also remember the times when we just had less stuff. I’m not sure it was exactly make do or do without, because there was plenty of what we needed, but there was just less “stuff”, and my parents certainly didn’t get us everything that was available. But I think we were not the norm even for the time.

      And I agree about being appalled at the amount of unnecessary stuff we are producing today. I found it something to think about when I had my own kids, and so much stuff was freely available, and we could afford to get anything they wanted really, to stop and think about what that would teach them. They, and we, were not/are not particularly materialistic, but still, I found myself buying way more freely when the first ones were little than my own parents did. (Ironically as the kids got older I realised they played more with sticks and leaves, literally! than any of the toys they have.) Nowadays we hardly buy anything besides food, and what we do get we can generally get second hand. (I’ve mentioned my secondhand shop addiction! 😀 ) It means a lot of other options financially.

      Like

      • When my children were young, in the sixties and throughout the seventies, there were block buster toys, like Cabbage Patch dolls and various Hot Wheels sets – like every generation has. We gave our kids their heart desire (if we could afford it) and a few other things. I never gave my sons Pac Man. They had to go to a friend’s house to play. I’m not sure they have gotten over that. Meals out were few and far between. On family vacations, mostly driving to visit relatives, we took along a loaf of bread , a jar of peanut butter and one of jelly to make sandwiches. My husband’s parents were directly affected by the Great Depression in the US during the early 30’s.There is no way we were going to spend extravagantly. My grandson had sushi for his 10th birthday dinner. My grandchildren are definitely products of a different culture.

        My sons and I like the structure that belt- tightening gives, when it becomes necessary. My middle son has clothed himself at thrift stores and the Salvation Army for decades and spends Saturdays going to garage sales for fun. My youngest son shops at Aldi, the discount grocery store, and picks up a few things for me. I like the simplicity of having less stuff. I’m glad that my sons inherited some of this. And I love the way they do more with their children than their father and I did – like vacations to Lego Land and birthday celebrations at nice restaurants.

        Like

What do you think? Leave a reply...

