Dear “Thrilled”

{Writing 101, Day Fourteen: To Whom It May Concern}

Pick up the nearest book and flip to page 29. What jumps out at you? Start there, and try a twist: write in the form of a letter.

Dear “Thrilled”,

You’ve attempted to approach me several times over the past few decades, and I know I’ve been less than cordial, so I felt it was time to address the situation head on. But I’m not sure what to say. I am ambivalent about you. You seem popular, but then I was never one to go along with the crowd, and to me you seem just a little loud, in your face, even, dare I say it, common.

But maybe I’ve got you wrong – are you even who I think you are? You seem to mean different things to different people. Are you … conforming?? Come on, you can be honest, for once in your (by all accounts very long) life. Are you compensating for being a lonely nerd, growing up? If so, you should know, it’s ok to be a nerd these days, maybe even more than ok. Nerds have their own culture. There’s geek chic. Nerds have TV shows.

Anyway, think about it, ok? I know you’re not all you’re cracked up to be (but don’t worry, I’ll keep it just between me and you; won’t breath a word). If you feel like reevaluating your identity, going back to your geek roots…..well, maybe then we can talk.

Until then, let’s just agree to a stand off.

Regards,

CG

2 thoughts on “Dear “Thrilled”

  1. Page 29 of my nearest book has Bertie Wooster overhearing some young wart dropping him in the bouillon with his uncle vis-a-vis a missing manuscript. I suspect your book is something a little more cerebral…

    Like

    • That sounds like fun! Well, mine was a book of Rupert Brook poetry which was beside me having been rescued from the clutches of the Burglar 😀 I guess words like “thrilled” are going to be par for the course for a book like that 😉

      Like

What do you think? Leave a reply...

